Everything old is new again – The Old Fire Hall returns to its creative roots as the NEW home of Complections College of Makeup Art and Design
TORONTO, Oct. 31, 2011 – The Old Fire Hall at 110 Lombard Street, former home of the legendary Second City, is under renovation and will be the new home of Complections College of Makeup Art and Design, announced Complections President Pamela Earle today. Currently located at 85 St. Nicholas Street, Complections, North America’s leading college for the training of makeup design and prosthetics professionals in fashion, entertainment, film, television, theatre and production, will move to its new location in early 2012. Estimated cost of the renovation is $600,000.
In making the announcement today, Ms. Earle said, “Complections will continue the rich tradition of the Old Fire Hall in providing talented artists with the innovative and excellent education and training so necessary to enter the cultural industries with outstanding professional qualifications. With this move to expanded facilities, Complections is able to offer augmented and enhanced courses to more students in state-of-the-art classrooms, studios and labs. Thanks to imaginative design, the class sizes will remain the same, ensuring the intimate learning environment for which Complections is known.”
Architect Maureen O’Shaughnessy of CS&P Architects Inc. has spearheaded the planning and design of the restoration. With vast experience in education, community and civic buildings, CS&P has brought its expertise to the challenges of the building at 110 Lombard Street. “This renovation is vitally important to the culture of Toronto’s creative industries. We have the opportunity here to showcase the original building while transforming the interiors to provide exemplary learning spaces,” Ms. O’Shaughnessy commented.
Venture Construction Services Inc. is working closely with the team in providing trades services.
Considered one of Toronto’s treasured historic buildings, the Old Fire Hall was built in 1886. It was the home of Second City from 1974-1997, followed by Gilda’s Club from 2001-2011.